Nutmeg Book Award

Nutmeg Book Award Winners and Nominees Are Available at River Bend Bookshop

The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children in grades 2-12 to read quality literature and to choose their favorite from a list of nominated titles.

  • Votes are cast in four divisions: Elementary (grades 2-3); Intermediate (grades 4-6); Middle School (grades 7-8); and High School (grades 9-12)
  • Jointly sponsored by the Connecticut Library Association (CLA) and the Connecticut Association of School Librarians (CASL), the Nutmeg Committee is comprised of children's librarians and school library media specialists who are members of the sponsoring organizations.


2022 Nominees for the Nutmeg Book Award have been announced!  Browse our Nutmeg Catalog by grade level.

Browse collected Educator Resources for many of the nominated titles.


Congratulations to the 2021 Nutmeg Award Winners!  


We Don't Eat Our Classmates (Penelope) Cover Image
Restart Cover Image
New Kid Cover Image
Symptoms of Being Human Cover Image