Snake's Big Mistake (Hardcover)

Snake's Big Mistake By Sarah Kurpiel, Sarah Kurpiel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sarah Kurpiel, Sarah Kurpiel (Illustrator)
$19.99
Available at One of Our Locations
River Bend - West Hartford
1 on hand, as of Jun 15 11:05pm
(Juvenile Fiction)

May/June 2023 Kids Indie Next List


“This story shows how to make things right when we’ve done something wrong. Snake takes credit for Turtle’s art project, but doesn’t feel good about it. So, Snake repairs the damaged project and the damaged friendship with Turtle. Beautiful!”
— Amy Lane, Bards Alley, Vienna, VA

Description


Snake loves art class—until his project is a disaster, and he makes a terrible mistake that hurts a friend. How will Snake fix his mistake? Acclaimed author-artist Sarah Kurpiel’s Snake’s Big Mistake is a picture book about art, friendship, apologizing, and forgiveness, for readers of The Rabbit Listened and The Book of Mistakes.

For weeks, Snake has looked forward to sculpting the most spectacular clay pot in art class. But when his pot breaks and his teacher confuses Snake’s pot with Turtle’s, Snake takes home Turtle’s masterpiece to show his family and pretends that he made it. Now, Snake will have to craft a way to repair a broken pot and a broken friendship.

Combining a sensitive, thoughtful text and irresistible illustrations, acclaimed author-illustrator Sarah Kurpiel centers emotions that young readers can easily identify with, such as anxiety, guilt, regret, and embarrassment. Snake’s Big Mistake—a companion to Elephant’s Big Solo—is an excellent choice for social and emotional learning, as well as story-time sharing.  

About the Author


Sarah Kurpiel  is the author and illustrator of Lone Wolf, which was named an Indie Next Pick. She is a librarian and a self-taught artist, inspired by animals, nature, and everyday life. She uses a power wheelchair and considers her disability an important part of her identity. Sarah Kurpiel lives with a cat as loud and as fast as Kiwi in Downers Grove, Illinois. www.sarahkurpiel.com



Sarah Kurpiel  is the author and illustrator of Lone Wolf, which was named an Indie Next Pick. She is a librarian and a self-taught artist, inspired by animals, nature, and everyday life. She uses a power wheelchair and considers her disability an important part of her identity. Sarah Kurpiel lives with a cat as loud and as fast as Kiwi in Downers Grove, Illinois. www.sarahkurpiel.com

Praise For…


“Working hard in art class, Snake[‘s] . . . finished product is less than amazing . . . But Mr. Owl, the art teacher, has accidentally attributed Snake’s pot to his friend Turtle and vice versa. Sneaky Snake appropriates Turtle’s superior creation—and the accolades the work earns from Snake’s teacher, parents, and classmates. . . . Snake eventually learns a valuable lesson in friendship and honesty. . . . A relatable lesson in how to make amends after a misstep.”  — Kirkus Reviews

“A thought-provoking picture book . . . Snake's eventual deception arises from his interest in the latest project in Mr. Owl’s art class, the creation of clay pots. . . . The power of the story comes from showing how destructive lies and deceit can be.” — Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063093218
ISBN-10: 0063093219
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 9th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English