Jude Saves the World (Hardcover)

Jude Saves the World By Ronnie Riley Cover Image
$18.99
Available at One of Our Locations
River Bend - Glastonbury
1 on hand, as of Jun 17 2:06pm
(Juvenile Fiction)
River Bend - West Hartford
1 on hand, as of Jun 17 2:06pm
(Juvenile Fiction)

Description


Perfect for fans of Alex Gino, A. J. Sass, and Kyle Lukoff this is the joyful and heartwarming story of Jude, a nonbinary kid who knows exactly who they are and decides to create a safe space in their community from Indies Introduce and Indie Next List pick author, Ronnie Riley.

Twelve-year-old Jude struggles with some things: focusing at school, feeling like everything rests on their shoulders, not being able to come out as nonbinary to their old-fashioned grandparents. But Jude doesn't struggle with Dallas, their best friend in the whole world. Their person.

Jude and Dallas's world changes when they learn Stevie, a girl in their class, has been ousted from the popular clique at school. Worried it had something to do with Stevie's rumored crush on another girl, Jude reaches out to see if Stevie is okay. Stevie quickly becomes an important friend to Jude and Dallas, whose unwavering acceptance of her is a stark contrast to the tests and dysfunction she experienced with her former friend group.

As their friendship deepens and the three open up to each other, Stevie's unconditional and open acceptance when Jude comes out to her motivates them to create a queer safe space in their community. Jude has the courage and determination it takes to create the first Diversity Club in their community, but will they be able to find the support they need to make it happen?

About the Author


Ronnie Riley (they/them) is many things: fat, queer, trans, nonbinary, demisexual, lesbian, neurodivergent, disabled, Canadian. They’re an event coordinator who lives with their partner in Toronto, Ontario. They collect books, friends, and cats. They love ice cream any day of the year, birds with long legs, and messy reality TV.

Their queer contemporary middle grade debut, Jude Saves the World (Scholastic, 2023), was an Indies Introduce and an Indies Kids’ Next List pick. Asking for a Friend (Scholastic, 2024) is their sophomore book. They write books they wish they had as a kid.

Find them on social media @mxronnieriley or online at mxronnieriley.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Jude Saves the World:

Indie Next List Pick

Indies Introduce Pick

“Full of fierce warmth and humor, Jude Saves the World is a life-changer. A tender, radiant debut.” -- Ashley Herring Blake, author of the Stonewall Honor book Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World

"A heartwarming exploration of identity, unconditional friendship, found family, and harnessing the force of love to right the world’s wrongs." -- Jules Machias, author of Both Can Be True

"Jude’s story is full of heart, queer celebration, and an intelligent tenderness so needed in today’s homes and classrooms." -- Ash Van Otterloo, author of Cattywampus

Accessible and ultimately hopeful. Jude Saves the World feels like wrapping yourself up in a warm blanket, like a hug to every single reader who might need one. Not only is Jude a courageous kid who just wants to make their world a better, more accepting place, they are a role model for readers hoping to do the same.” -- A. J. Sass, author of Ana on the Edge and Ellen Outside the Lines

Filled with courage and positivity, Jude is middle grade’s next Pride icon.” -- Kaliisha Cole, Whitelam Books, Reading, MA

“This is a beautiful book with amazing, brave characters who fiercely guard friendship as a safe space filled with unconditional love — and set about to make the world that way. Jude Saves the World cracked my heart open and poured joy right in.” -- Justin Colussy-Estes, Little Shop of Stories, Decatur, GA

Jude is the brave and loyal friend all young queer kids need.” -- Gabriella Crivilare, Prairie Fox Books, Ottawa, IL

Advance Praise for Jude Saves the World:

“Full of fierce warmth and humor, Jude Saves the World is a life-changer. A tender, radiant debut.” –– Ashley Herring Blake, author of the Stonewall Honor book Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World

Jude Saves the World is a heartwarming exploration of identity, unconditional friendship, found family, and harnessing the force of love to right the world’s wrongs.” –– Jules Machias, author of Both Can Be True

Jude Saves the World is a beautiful snapshot of a nonbinary kid’s gutsy, empathetic effort to meet the need for respect and interpersonal awareness not just for their small community, but also in the riskier, more personal microcosm of family and close friendship. Jude’s story is full of heart, queer celebration, and an intelligent tenderness so needed in today’s homes and classrooms.” –– Ash Van Otterloo, author of Cattywampus

“Accessible and ultimately hopeful. Jude Saves the World feels like wrapping yourself up in a warm blanket, like a hug to every single reader who might need one. Not only is Jude a courageous kid who just wants to make their world a better, more accepting place, they are a role model for readers hoping to do the same.” — A. J. Sass, author of Ana on the Edge and Ellen Outside the Lines



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338855876
ISBN-10: 1338855875
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 18th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English