Tender Beasts (Hardcover)

Tender Beasts By Liselle Sambury Cover Image
$19.99
Available at One of Our Locations
River Bend - Glastonbury
1 on hand, as of May 20 2:06pm
(Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense)
River Bend - West Hartford
1 on hand, as of May 20 2:06pm
(Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense)

Description


After her private school is rocked by a gruesome murder, a teen tries to find the real killer and clear her brother’s name in this psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Taking of Jake Livingston and Ace of Spades.

Sunny Behre has four siblings, but only one is a murderer.

With the death of Sunny’s mother, matriarch of the wealthy Behre family, Sunny’s once picture-perfect life is thrown into turmoil. Her mother had groomed her to be the family’s next leader, so Sunny is confused when the only instructions her mother leaves is a mysterious note: “Take care of Dom.”

The problem is, her youngest brother, Dom, has always been a near-stranger to Sunny…and seemingly a dangerous one, if found guilty of his second-degree murder charge. Still, Sunny is determined to fulfill her mother’s dying wish. But when a classmate is gruesomely murdered, and Sunny finds her brother with blood on his hands, her mother’s simple request becomes a lot more complicated. Dom swears he’s innocent, and although Sunny isn’t sure she believes him, she takes it upon herself to look into the murder—made all the more urgent by the discovery of another body. And another.

As Sunny and Dom work together to track down the culprit, Sunny realizes her other siblings have their own dark secrets. Soon she may have to choose: preserve the family she’s always loved or protect the brother she barely knows—and risk losing everything her mother worked so hard to build.

About the Author


Liselle Sambury is the Trinidadian Canadian author of the Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalist Blood Like Magic and its sequel, Blood Like Fate. Her work spans multiple genres, from fantasy to sci-fi, horror, and more. In her free time, she shares helpful tips for upcoming writers and details of her publishing journey through a YouTube channel dedicated to demystifying the sometimes complicated business of being an author.

Praise For…


"A fresh horror offering mixes ­social commentary on race and class with gore and supernatural possession."
— School Library Journal

"A creepily potent story of a family legacy that gives terrifying shape to monsters real and imagined."
— Kirkus Reviews

"The dark, shocking secrets of the Behre family will have readers craving more."
— Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9781665903523
ISBN-10: 166590352X
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: February 27th, 2024
Pages: 416
Language: English