URBAN LODGE: Katie Tietjen & Megan Collins

Wednesday, July 10, 2024 - 6:30pm

Love mysteries? Join us at Urban Lodge on July 10 for a mystery author chat between debut author Katie Tietjen and River Bend author & friend, Megan Collins (Thicker Than Water, The Family Plot.)

They will be talking about Katie's new book, Death in the Details, miniatures, and how the mother of forensic science, Frances Glessner Lee, inspired both Death in the Details and The Family Plot.

Both authors will be signing books too!


 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Inspired by the real-life mother of forensic science, Frances Glessner Lee, and featuring a whip-smart, intrepid sleuth in post-WWII Vermont, this debut historical mystery will appeal to fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.

Maple Bishop is ready to put WWII and the grief of losing her husband, Bill, behind her. But when she discovers that Bill left her penniless, Maple realizes she could lose her Vermont home next and sets out to make money the only way she knows how: by selling her intricately crafted dollhouses. Business is off to a good start—until Maple discovers her first customer dead, his body hanging precariously in his own barn.

Something about the supposed suicide rubs Maple the wrong way, but local authorities brush off her concerns. Determined to help them see “what’s big in what’s small,” Maple turns to what she knows best, painstakingly recreating the gruesome scene in miniature: death in a nutshell.

With the help of a rookie officer named Kenny, Maple uses her macabre miniature to dig into the dark undercurrents of her sleepy town, where everyone seems to have a secret—and a grudge. But when her nosy neighbor goes missing and she herself becomes a suspect, it’ll be up to Maple to find the devil in the details—and put him behind bars.

Drawing inspiration from true crime and offering readers a smartly plotted puzzle of a mystery, Death in the Details is a stunning series debut. 


ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Katie Tietjen is an award-winning writer, teacher, and school librarian. A Frances Glessner Lee enthusiast, she’s traveled thousands of miles to visit her homes, see her nutshells, and even attend her birthday party. Katie lives in New England with her husband and two sons. This is her first novel.

Megan Collins is the author of Thicker Than WaterThe Family PlotBehind the Red Door, and The Winter Sister. She taught creative writing for many years at both the high school and college level and is the managing editor of 3Elements Literary Review. She lives in Connecticut, where she obsesses over dogs, miniatures, and cake.


ACCESSIBILITY INFORMATION

Urban Lodge in Manchester is a wheelchair accessible space. An accessible parking lot is located on site. If you have specific questions about the space or questions about the event’s accessibility, please contact us at events@riverbendbookshop.com

 

Event address: 
Urban Lodge
47 Purnell Place
Manchester, CT 06040